19-May-2024 22:21:53 | Hibernian FC Official Website

Jordan Obita-2.jpg

Jordan Obita has been named Hibernian FC’s Player of the Year for the 2023/24 campaign!

The left-back pipped last year’s winner Joe Newell to the top-prize which was voted for by Hibernian FC supporters.

Jordan has been the stand out man for the Hibees this season producing excellent displays down the left hand-side. Alongside being solid defensively, Obita has bagged two goals this season, which included a memorable one in the UEFA Europa Conference League against Luzern at Easter Road.

Jordan Obita-2.jpg

The 30-year-old’s displays were also noticed by his teammates as he picked up the Men’s Player’s Player of the Year Award.

It was also a successful night for Nathan Moriah-Welsh who was voted Men’s Young Player of the Year. He has impressed supporters since his January switch.

Whilst Emiliano Marcondes won the Goal of the Season award for his fantastic free-kick away at St Johnstone in April.

In the Women’s team, Leah Eddie claimed the top prize winning Women’s Player of the Year, with Lia Tweedie winning Goal of the Season for her brilliant effort against Hearts at Meadowbank.

The Special Recognition award went to Joelle Murray who made the difficult decision to retire from women’s football this summer. Joelle has been a trailblazer for women’s football and made over 500 appearances for Hibs Women.


In addition, there were also special awards presentations for Club stalwarts Paul Hanlon and Lewis Stevenson honouring their legendary Hibs careers on the night.

Rory Whittaker also walked away with an award being named the Academy Player of the Year. The 16-year-old became the Club’s youngest ever player when he came on against St Johnstone back in February, and made 14 First Team appearances during the 2023/24 campaign.

The full list of award winners are as follows! 

Men's Player of the Year – Jordan Obita

Sponsored by Caledonian Heating & Plumbing

Women's Player of the Year – Leah Eddie 

Sponsored by The Linn Botanic Gardens

Men's Young Player of the Year – Nathan Moriah-Welsh

Sponsored by JB Contracts Ltd

Men’s Players’ Player of the Year – Jordan Obita

Sponsored by Charles Henshaw

Special Recognition Award – Joelle Murray

Sponsored by A.A.A. Coaches

Men’s Goal of the Season – Emiliano Marcondes vs St Johnstone

Sponsored by Owen Gibb & Sons Ltd

Women’s Goal of the Season – Lia Tweedie vs Hearts

Sponsored by AM Properties/Nevin of Edinburgh

Academy Player of the Year – Rory Whittaker

Sponsored by LNER

Staff Member of the Year – Rab Dunn (Facilities Manager)

Sponsored by HEAD Resourcing

Read More